My Favorite Thing in my Closet

There is one thing in my closet that I love with all my heart. I don’t get to wear it as much as I want but when I do, I know life is good.

Please meet my backpack of 7 years, Betty.

Isn’t she great? I got her off Ebay for 40 bucks. I really lucked out. She fits me perfectly and doubles as a decent pillow when I need to crash overnight in an airport/bus station/park to save a couple bucks.

The fact that she’s out to take this photo means that something very exciting is about to happen. It begins with a P and ends with ERU.

Whenever I tell people I’m going to Peru for two weeks I usually get asked…Why Peru?

Well why not?

Granted,  I didn’t think I’d get to South America this early in my travels. I saw more trips to Europe and a first one to Australia in my travel future. Oh, and I can’t forget about my plans I made two years ago to ride an elephant in Thailand and visit Nadia, my old roommate I lived with in Scotland, in Namibia before I’m 30.

But South America. No way. Not now. I’m not that advanced of a traveler yet.

It’s funny how a 271 dollar roundtrip ticket from NYC to Lima can change the way you think about things.

So now I’m off to explore the Gringo Trail for the next two weeks. I don’t think it’s possible for me to be any more excited.  A few of my musts this trip…sandboarding in Huacachina, condors at Colca Canyon, staying with a local family at Amantani Island located on Lake Titicaca and that thing everyone is always talking about… I think they call it the Machu Picchu?

I can tell Betty is excited too. We didn’t get to spend any time together last year. Life got too hectic to travel abroad. The world went into a recession. The only travel I did was domestic and I use a different kind of luggage for that. Yes, I can hear how lame these excuses sound.

I’m gonna make it right this year Betty. I promise.

Here’s a photo of me at 19 and Betty at the start of my international superstar career.

Viva La Betty!!!!

2 Comments

Filed under Travel

2 responses to “My Favorite Thing in my Closet

  1. theartfulabode

    you look so itty bitty in that picture! hope you and betty live it up like two prisoners out on parole. 🙂

Leave a Reply

