My Week in Photos

Always starting with my favorite day of the week…Trash Treasure Day!!!

And boy, was there bounty to be had this week. Check it out!

I was so excited to see this I immediately ran back up to my apartment to get my camera. Originally there was a sink included with this counter and cabinet set but by the time I returned someone had taken it.

A mattress/box set that also comes with a mop?! That’s a combo you can’t find at Target.

The flash of my camera scared the roaches off this so consider it good to go for your kid or any small child you feel deserves something special.

In other news, Twas the night of the Sex and the City 2 World Premiere, when all through New York, fashionistas primped and not a manolo went unworn. I decided about a month earlier that I would be in attendance of this epic movie event but as usual, my tickets got lost in the mail so I had to go and crash the after party which was being held at Lincoln Center.

Initially, infiltrating the party looked difficult with three levels of security checkpoints but me and my friend Jessica managed to sneak by, no questions asked.

Yep, a photo kiosk was there (next to a mini-cupcake tower, might I add) to capture your moment of VIP exclusivity along with a table of props to enhance a photo that already has a glittery desert as its background. I love this kind of promotional/marketing crap. Hell yes I want my photo taken! And get me a mini-cupcake too while we’re at it. I’m on the movie poster!

As after parties go, this one was great. The decor reminded me of being in a high class harem’s private quarters. There was dramatic drapery, plush pillows and a lighting setup that bathed everything and everyone in warm hues of pink and orange. A lot of really famous people were there, along with not name famous but face famous people. All of the women looked fantastic and much better in person.

The best part of the night (and seeing how this is Sex and the City is appropriate) was the list of free cocktails with clever names. Like Mr. Manhattan, Blond Ambition and Park Avenue Princess.

I stuck with being a cliche for the evening and drank my fill of Cosmos. Cheers Carrie Bradshaw and co.!

My hetero life partner Amie told me of this neat-o exhibit featuring props from the show and photographs featuring cast and crew that are immigrants and first generation Americans. I used to be OBSESSED with Lost back when the show first aired. My obsession faded around season three but I still have a soft spot for the show and the crazy it brought to television.

Jug Head

Dharma Beer

Me and Amie in front of the Dharma van. While the Dharma van is cool, I feel that our unintentional matching outfits makes this photo a billion times cooler. Polka dots AND yellow sunglasses?! You cannot plan that kind of awesome no matter what people say.

As I walked to the subway one afternoon I came across a situation that required concern casual enough not to feel a need to do anything about it.  Like a scene from one of my favorite animal movies (Milo and Otis springs to mind),  a handful of ducklings and their mother lost their way into these bushes.

There was only one person who could save this duck family.

This man with a black and mild hanging out of his mouth, wrangled these runaway fowls to safety. He informed everyone that he used to live on a farm and to just grab whatever duck was around and get going. When the ducklings maneuvered away from the hands of well intentioned strangers, he growled “You can’t save them all!”  Knowing words from a former farm boy.

However, I’m happy to report that all four ducklings and mother are now somewhere in Central Park doing duck things.

That is if a coyote or falcon hasn’t found them by now.

Leave a comment

Filed under My Week In photos

Leave a Reply

